1907 - Page is President

NW Mailing List nw-mailing-list at nwhs.org
Sun Apr 22 13:48:49 EDT 2007

Roanoke Times - April 18, 1907


Page is President

Major W. N. Page, Ansted, W. Va., was elected president of the Virginian
Railway at the annual meeting of the stockholders held in Norfolk Wednesday.
Major Page was president of the Tidewater railway, recently designated as the
Virginian railway, and is also president of the Deepwater railway,
shortly to be
merged into the Virginian railway. The headquarters of the Deepwater
railway are
to be located at Ansted, W. Va.
Raymond Dupuy, vice-president and general manager of the Tidewater, was
elected vice-president and general manager; Walter H. Taylor, of Norfolk,
assistant secretary, and James Clarke, of New York, treasurer. Heming
chief engineer of the Tidewater, was chosen chief engineer.
Following are those chosen as directors: Major W. N. Page, Raymond Dupuy,
Walter H. Taylor, Charles M. Pretlow, John Kee, assistant attorney, and E. W.
Knight, general counsel, with offices in Charleston, W. Va.
Preliminary plans were made to take over the properties of the Deepwater
railway. This merger will effected on April 22 at a meeting of the stockholder
of the Deepwater to be held at Ansted, W. Va., on that date.
Following the stockholders' meeting, the Virginian officials attending the
meeting enjoyed a spin about the harbor in the Tidewater gasoline launch. The
party finally found their way up the Southern branch of the river to
the trestle
over the Southern branch. General Manager Dupuy then piloted the party down to
the Exposition grounds via the Virginian route. They made the trip on
a special car.
Walter H. Taylor, who was elected assistant secretary, will
continue division
counsel of the road as in the past.


- Roger Link

More information about the NW-Mailing-List mailing list